Examining the Law with a Drunk Driving Lawyer
In Kansas, driving under the influence charges lead to severe criminal and administrative penalties. The drivers could lose their driver’s licenses in some cases. A drunk driving defense lawyer can build a defense based on the circumstances of the case.
Implied Consent in Kansas
The state of Kansas utilizes the implied consent ruling, which indicates that the driver gave their legal consent for chemical testing as soon as they decided to drive while intoxicated. Law enforcement officers use the ruling to order potential suspects to submit to testing. Any driver that is convicted of refusing to submit receives a one-year license suspension, must install an ignition interlocking device in their vehicle, and pays a fine of $600.
What Are the Administrative Penalties?
The administrative penalties that apply to a DUI conviction include a thirty-day driver’s license suspension. The driver must install an ignition interlocking device for at least six months, and their driver’s license reinstatement fee is $200.
For underage drivers, the driver’s license suspension is thirty days. They must install an ignition interlocking device in their vehicle for no less than 330 days.
What Are the Criminal Penalties for the Charge?
The first conviction leads to a fine between $750 and $1,000. The driver remains in the county jail for at least forty-eight hours and is ordered to complete 100 hours of community service. Their driver’s license suspension is at the judge’s discretion. All drivers convicted of a DUI must complete a drug and alcohol treatment program. The defendant must pay all related court costs. SR-22 certificates are required for all drivers convicted of the offense.
Aggravated DUI Charges
Aggravated DUI charges are imposed if a child under the age of fourteen is in the vehicle. A blood-alcohol content reading of 0.15 percent, a DUI-related accident with injuries or fatalities, and multiple DUIs on the record also lead to the charge.
In Kansas, DUI offenses involve intoxication due to the use of alcohol and controlled substances. The law enforcement agency that arrests the defendant conducts chemical testing to identify the substance. The blood-alcohol content reading or the type of controlled substances in the bloodstream define the charge. Those facing these kinds of charges should contact a drunk driving defense lawyer at Addair Thurston Chtd. today. You can also follow them on Twitter for latest news and update!